Suffering and smiling?hell yeah!


Hello everyone! How has the week been? I’m sure we are all looking forward to the weekend…

Kai, keeping a blog ain’t easy as I thought, as I have been cracking my brain for a suitable topic to write about. Sorry about the wait (for those who actually waited), but it sure feels good when visitors to the blog pester me to put up a new post. I hope this will be worth your wait.

E NO EASY EHHHH

I don’t know why people see me as being short-tempered. People who eventually become close to me are usually surprised to find out otherwise. I just have a sharp mouth, as some would say. This sharp mouth though, becomes handy when some annoying people ‘need to be put in check’, as we Nigerians are always quick to do. I did this a lot as a teenager, and it stopped several bullies from messing with me. I even bullied a prefect back in Queen’s college, who didn’t know I was her junior by 4 years…true cool story. I should get a pat in the back for that, no?

Anyways, as I grew older, and learnt more about diseases and drugs, some things became clearer. I discovered that some people act inappropriately because of some underlying factors, which may or may not be health-related. Let me give you a real life illustration.

I was in my office in that same community pharmacy in Wuse 2, on a warm, cheery evening. A woman walks in, and after exchanging pleasantries, she handed me a prescription. Among other drugs contained the prescription was the popular ‘Chemiron’ capsules, a haematinic (or blood tonic as we call it). I brought out the drugs and was about costing them when the woman started screaming ‘I don’t want Chemiron, why did you give me that rubbish’. You know most Nigerians believe when an item is cheap, it is of extremely low quality. I apologised, and explained to her that I just followed what was written on the prescription, but she would hear none of that. After trying SOOOO hard not to reply her, she said and I quote ‘ I don’t know what is wrong with all this useless graduates of nowadays…I train people like you, you girls without home training’. All these while, I was still attending to her, and the next words i heard was‘If you try this rubbish again, I would bring my 9-year old daughter to give you a dirty slap’. GHEN GEUN!!! Maybe my ears’ connection were touching, but she said it again, and I became certain I was dealing with a really sick woman. Because of the professional environment I was in, I called on my colleague to attend to her before I did something unprofessional, and went into the inner office. At the close of work, I was going through the treated prescriptions when I found out that the woman had come earlier to get a particular drug, Haloperidol, which is an anti-psychotic drug. You can’t imagine how happy I was that I didn’t exchange words with her, because she obviously had problems that were beyond her control.

Now, there are millions of frustrated people out there, believe me. People just flare up for very funny reasons. Before you ‘attack’ that girl who insulted you, or secretly curse your boss who continually berates you, or think your boyfriend or girlfriend is changing and you want to break up, He or she may be experiencing the following, knowingly or unknowingly.

  Horrible boss!  But let him be…

  • Diarrhea: This is My personal number one cause for irrational behaviour, a.k.a ‘running stomach’ (only Jah knows where its running to) or purging. My friends, shit don hook you before? Especially when you are nowhere near a convenience. It really can make one mad, causing an actual ‘verbal diarrhea’. Rather than reply that girl in your office whose yab touched you in the wrong place, keep quiet or smile. You don’t want her to accidentally ‘drop it like it’s hot’ while exchanging words.
  • Diseases affecting the brain: This includes Schizophrenia, Depression, and Alzheimer’s disease. Part of the non-drug therapy is Tolerance. Since you can’t tell who is affected by this disease, it pays to make an extra effort to tolerate people unknown to you.

                                           

  • Substance addiction: Items ranging from Super glue, Horse faeces to Benylin with Codeine and Marijuana are abused by people. Most addicts have violent behaviours, and an attempt to correct, insult or put them in check might just leave you wounded or dead.
  • Migraine/Cluster headache: This can make someone super-irritable, surely i can get witnesses to this fact.
  • Hypertension: From the prefix ‘hyper’ (jokes), you can imagine how such an individual will behave, especially when not controlled. Let the anger pass, before he drops dead on you as you both are having an altercation.
  • Sex deprivation: Yes,oh yes, this is a huge cause of people’s frustration. You see that young man jumping queues in the banking hall, and when confronted, insults the generation of everyone present? You can be sure that his wife has refused copulation for 7months, and he hasn’t the heart to cheat on her. Help him by smiling and refusing to get caught in his frustrating web.

Happy couple, eh? Look well, he might be sex starved. It’s called ‘Suffering and smiling’.

  • Emotional trauma: This is more common in females. The other day in the hospital, a nurse, well in her ‘marriageable years’ but unmarried had this to say to a woman who had just put to bed, when she called out for help…‘abeg no be because of you i come work today o, me self go born pikin one day’. Because other members of staff knew about her irrational behaviour caused by her unmarried status, she was ignored. Morale of the story? A lot of people are undergoing emotional problems, and it will do you well to just ignore and let them be.

                        WHY NOT LAUGH IT OFF!                                         

  • Financial handicap: This is otherwise known as ‘being broke’. Some girls resort to being in the “INEC – I NEVER EVEN CHOP” group when they are broke. We all have had our broke stages. So when next you see that handsome, well dressed man in the restaurant with a surprisingly nasty attitude, he’s probably thinking how’s he’s going to raise the money to foot the bill of the lunch he, his girlfriend, and 6 of her friends had just had. We girls can be that wicked.
  • Living in bondage: Some are being followed from their villages. You don’t wanna mess with such people, before they skype you with broken mirror.

I could go on with more reasons not to be nasty to that annoying person. But I’m sure I have bored you already. 🙂

P.S. Nigerians, please take it easy on the Ghanaians, they have just lost their president. Laughing at our loss in the Basketball match might just be their way of grieving. Tamper justice with mercy. (Nigerian voltrons please don’t shoot me o, lol).

Until next post, be a nice, happy bunny.

Mwah!!!

11 comments on “Suffering and smiling?hell yeah!

  1. Lol very funny and true post. Sometimes you can even give yourself a headache arguing with a crazy person. The truth is when 2 people are arguing, bystanders can’t tell which one is certifiable….

  2. sweets. nice nice one. yesterday a colleague did a care giver a favour by giving him 3amps of pentazocin, wrote a note behind his reciept askin me to exchange for two amps of diclofenac. he came wt a note, but wt no pent, so I said sir, uve been asked to do an exchange wher’s d injection? guess wat he said? dat girl must be mad(na woman he call girl o). me now said, no sir she was only doin u a favor, maybe u shud check d pack of suppplies she already did for somtin like this(i show him pent) then he flairs and says I said she mad sey. so I smile and shut my mouth, befor he says: u too ure mad. at work, its really d good, d bad d ugly

Leave a comment